Apps, the web, and productivity

Inspired by this public discussion on Asa Dotzler’s Facebook wall, I reflected on my own current use cases of web applications, native mobile apps, and desktop clients. I also thought about my post from 2012 where I asked the question whether web apps are accessible enough to replace desktop clients any time soon. During my […]

Read More Apps, the web, and productivity

Maintenance complete

A day later than originally announced, I undertook the much needed maintenance. The site should be much faster now, having moved it to a more performant web hoster. I also consolidated all my blogs into a multi-site WordPress installation, which should make it much easier for me in the future to create little blogs for […]

Read More Maintenance complete

Blog maintenance on Saturday

On Saturday, August 23, starting at 9 AM GMT+02:00 (3 AM Eastern, midnight Pacific), this blog will undergo some much needed maintenance. Afterwards it will hopefully be faster, and also have a new theme. I’ll try to keep the interruption as brief as possible. But just in case, so you know. 🙂

Read More Blog maintenance on Saturday

What got me into programming

On Nov 20, 1983, Borland released Turbo Pascal 1.0. At a price of revolutionary 50 us$, developers received the world’s first fully integrated development environment (IDE) for the PC. It combined the compiler and code editor, and later also debugger, in a package that ran as a single program and didn’t require developers to go […]

Read More What got me into programming

Recap of Beyond Tellerrand 2013

On may 27 and 28, I attended the Beyond Tellerrand 2013 conference. Tellerrand is the German word for “edge of a plate”. The conference is targeted primarily at web developers and designers, but provides many tracks that look way beyond the edge of the plate of their daily work. It was my first time attending, […]

Read More Recap of Beyond Tellerrand 2013